District of the town of San Venanzo, the country is 358 m above sea level and about 3 km southwest of the capital of the municipality, a short distance from the road that connects Marsciano, in the plains, the mountain Peglia through San Venanzo. The current population amounts to 37 residents (Istat, 2001). Borgo probably of Etruscan origin, still maintains in good condition the medieval structure. The name derives from the fortified structure wheel-shaped or circular, rota-castle, mentioned in the land registry in 1292, in good condition. Visible the tower’s main village, recently restored, and traces of the other six towers that made up the defense. The place, inhabited since Etruscan times, became in medieval fortified castle in the hands of a family of Ghibellines of Orvieto. As of the end of the eighteenth century was always linked to Orvieto which granted him the statutes of 1502, with which the community is ruled until, for the reform of the state desired by Pius VII, it was not under San Venanzo. The picturesque medieval village still intact main tower and traces of the other six defense towers. On the external facade of the parish church is located in a panel of school Deruta majolica of 1586 representing San Michele Arcangelo, while inside are preserved three paintings of the eighteenth century. The nearby church of Our Lady of the Snow encloses a beautiful fresco of the end of 1500.
First week of August: August cultural event in the Middle Ages, with an impressive historical procession in medieval clothes, organized by the FRIENDS OF ROTECASTELLO.